Dear Members,

The 29th HKILA AGM was held on 28 April 2017. This AGM attended by almost 200 members was unprecedented in the history of the Institute, a record high turnout probably due to keen competition in the elections of Office Bearers and Council Members happened this year. I am grateful that I was elected as the President. Other elected member include Ms. Iris Hoi and Mr. S.C. Lo as Vice-presidents, and Ms. Kathy Ng, Mr. Simon Ng and Mr. Isaac So as Council Members. Mr. Chan Yin-lun and Ms. Siuman Hung were also elected by default as Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer respectively.

I would like to express my sincerest heartfelt thanks to those members who had offered me self-motivated generous supports in various ways and concurred with my election platform with great trust in me. I equally respect every candidate who stood up for the election, and announced their vision and commitment for the betterment of the Institute and profession. There is no room for me and other elected members to be complacent, but rather we shall be even more cautious and humble in serving the Institute, as we understand members having high expectations of us.

The President and Hon. Secretary Reports 2016-2017 summarizing the Institute’s affairs and operation last year have been uploaded to the Institute’s website for your perusal.


Looking forward, the Council and I will focus on the following directions in the coming year:

i) Taking the opportunity of the Institute’s 30th Anniversary in 2018 to promote the Institute and landscape architectural profession to the public;


ii) Enhancing the involvement of Landscape Architects in public services and striving for the establishment of more directorate Landscape Architect posts in the Government;


iii) Providing more opportunities for advancement or upward movement of Associate and young members, e.g. exchange programs for landscape students and internship/ attachment schemes for Associate Members;


iv) Maintaining high standards in accreditation and admission policy of the Institute; and


v) Exploring e-professional learning platform for Continued Professional Development activities to save the Institute’s resources and widen the exposure to different landscape architectural knowledge over the world.

I am glad to see the rising of members’ awareness of the Institute’s affairs. Again, I appeal for more members, being in public or private sectors, young or mature, to participate in the Institute’s activities and operation. I believe, with the collective efforts of members, we could make the Institute and the profession better.


Regards,
Tak WONG
President of HKILA
May 2017

 
   
   
  Council Report. 2016-2017
  President Report 2017
  Secretary Report 2017
 
  Member List
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2017-2018    

Position

Name

Email contact

 

President

Mr. Tak Yip WONG

president@hkila.com

 

Vice-President

Mr. S.C. LO

vice-president1@hkila.com

 

Vice-President

Ms. Iris HOI

vice-president2@hkila.com

 

Honorary Secretary

Mr. Yin-Lun CHAN

secretary@hkila.com

 

Honorary Treasurer

Ms. Yee-Man HUNG

treasurer@hkila.com

 

Education

Ms. Iris HOI

education@hkila.com

 

Practice

Mr. Benni PONG

practice@hkila.com

 

Public Affairs

Mr. Patrick LAU

affairs@hkila.com

 

Publication

Mr. Augustine LAM

publication@hkila.com

 

Registration

Mr. Grant LIU

registration@hkila.com

 

Functions and Events

Mr. Charles KUO

events@hkila.com

  Council Member Ms. Kathy NG councilmember1@hkila.com
  Council Member Mr. Isaac SO councilmember2@hkila.com
  Council Member Mr. Simon NG councilmember3@hkila.com
  Council of Fellows (Convener) Mr. Evans IU past-president@hkila.com
  CPD Committee (to be formed) Ms. Connie CHEUNG cpd@hkila.com
  Webmaster Mr. Augustine Lam postmaster@hkila.com
  Secretariat Ms. Elsie LAW secretariat@hkila.com
  Secretariat Ms. Jennifer LI secretariat@hkila.com
 

 

 

Tel: 2896 2833 Fax: 2896 3938